

COOK COUNTY COLLEGE TEACHERS UNION

1901 W Carroll Ave, Suite 200 · Chicago, IL 60612 · 312.755.9400

20 January 2023

A message to our members...

On Tuesday, April 4th, elections will be held for two positions for the Moraine Valley Community College Board of Trustees. We were very honored to meet with all of the candidates, all of whom are well-qualified, community members who clearly care about the future of Moraine Valley.

Members of Cook County College Teachers Union which represents the faculty and staff at Moraine Valley have endorsed the following trustee candidates:

- Mr. Brian O'Neill
- Mr. Jose "Yusuf" Vidal

As sitting Board Chair, **Mr. O'Neill** has guided Moraine Valley through the COVID 19 pandemic. He has demonstrated solid leadership and a clear understanding of how to manage a government body. He has maintained a focus on the needs of students while supporting staff and faculty in reaching strategic goals. He is a valued partner.

As much as Mr. O'Neill brings experience to the table, **Mr. Vidal** offers a new vision and fresh ideas to the board. Mr. Vidal's background in government management, his knowledge of policy, and his personal connections to community colleges will be useful in the times ahead. His family relationships in both the Latinx and Muslim communities present much needed representation and insight. We look forward to working with him in the future.

Historically, the Faculty Association, the Adjunct Faculty Organization, and the Support Staff Association have worked in a spirit of partnership with the Board of Trustees to offer affordable, high-quality education to our district. We seek to maintain a culture of innovation, cooperation, and integrity within our campus community. We believe that these candidates will help us maintain our high standards and record of success. We urge you to vote on Tuesday, April 4th, and we urge you to vote for O'Neill and Vidal.

Troy Swanson
CCCTU Legislative Chair

Delwyn Jones CCCTU Vice President, Suburban Faculty

David D. Burns, Ph.D. President, MV Adjunct Faculty Organization

Lynn Doulas
President, MV Support Staff Association

Michelle August
President, MV Faculty Association